Thursday, April 5th, 2007

visit www.flash-gear.com for authentic, unstolen Flash toys!

or, visit www.drawball.com! it's hard to describe, so just check it out!



I run www.flash-gear.com, a site dedicated to Flash toys all entirely created by myself. My most recent creation was the acid toy.




It took over a month of creative energy to code the final product, and we all know that time is money.

Perhaps the most interesting thing about my acid toy is that it has been completely, 100% ripped off and hacked by another site!



UNBELIEVABLE!


Mind you, it is not just a look-alike or a coincidence; it is literally my work which I spent over a month creating, and he hacked it. I have proof of this. He found a .swf hacking program, decompiled my .swf file, changed the outbound links to his own, recompiled it, and put it on his server illegally. That is as shameless as it gets. It's a gross violation of copyright law and I could probably sue for lost revenue. In fact, I've glanced through his site, and hacking and theft appear to be what his entire business model is based on: He finds someone else's Flash work, hacks the .swf to change outbound links to his own, and sells ad space.


By now, I've lost an incalculable sum due to his theft of my hard work. The damage has been done and has surpassed thousands of dollars by now. The crook had been unresponsive to my initial attempts to contact him, but I've been aching for compensation - literally! I suffer daily from an autoimmune disease called Crohn's; my own white blood cells attack my intestines every day, and I desperately need money to buy proper health supplies to reduce symptoms. I am not rich by any stretch of the imagination, and not only because I place creativity above greed (rather than trying to become as wealthy as possible by stealing from strangers...).




If you clicked a link to arrive here, then you might have expected a different page. Well, I had casually told a trusted friend about this crook, and that friend insisted on helping me. He suggested that I register this domain, which I did; and he said he'd take care of the rest. He didn't tell me what he did or how he did it, but he promised to get this issue attention. By reading this page, thanks to him and to you, my own site is now regaining a very small portion of the exposure that was ripped away from it.


But here is the kicker. Recently, the owner of that brothel of stolen content e-mailed me.


Dear sir,

I am the owner of MyProfilPimp.com. ... you registered www.myprofiipimp.com ... From this time and date you have 48 hours to turn over the domain before I pursue legal action ... We will spare no expense to punish criminal activity to protect our business. My attorney has been advised and will promptly serve papers to your server company to shut you down, as well as filing criminal and civil papers with the court system. At this time you have 48 hours to respond and relinquish the domain to us! If you do not respond we will enforce our legal right with Icann to retrieve that domain since it was registered with the sole intent to harm another company as it infringes on our trademarks/and copy writes.



"copy writes," eh? It's odd that he didn't get his own domain name right; perhaps he cheated when being taught to spell as a child. True story: In the second grade, a kid named John was next to me when the teacher handed John's graded work back. I noticed a big black scribble above his name on the paper. Suspicious, I soon discovered that this kid was doing almost no work at all. How did he get away with it? Well, when nobody was looking, he'd go to the work turn-in bin, pick a random sheet, quickly scribble a black box over the original name, and put his own name below it, claiming the work as his own. He got away with that for awhile, and I was the one who finally ratted him out. History repeats itself!


Anyway, so then this guy sent another e-mail. Does he seriously think he's going to win my domain by barking at me in broken English?


You have until tomorrow morning until I have your servers shut down by a dmca request from my attorney. If you fail to turn over the domain I will be forced to press criminal charges as well. We have plenty of evidence of your usage of our name and copyrights.

24 hours from Now. Otherwise Monday your server company will be served papers. As will your local authorities and ICANN.



I felt threatened enough by his unwarranted and bizarre rage to post a blog here because, similar to eBaum, this guy is filthy rich from stealing others' work, and I wouldn't be surprised if he actually were to throw his Federal Reserve weight around to get what he wants, since that's the only way people like him know how to do it: No creativity, no intelligence, just brute force.


Well, "dear sir," you will notice that sites such as paypalsucks.com have existed for many years despite their similarities to trademarks; and by that precedent, dear sir, I assure you that, despite your threats, my site here will undoubtedly also exist for many years. Theplanet has been a very reliable host for my legitimate business (have you ever heard of the phrase "legitimate business" before?). C'est la vie.


One thing I have thus far failed to mention is that he found my mother's phone number and harassed her while she was already stressed out over work and taxes. If I am pressed further, I may post his name and phone number here eventually (in case you would like to get in touch and ask him why it's okay to harass and threaten someone he's already robbed).


What do you think about all of this? Leave me a comment! (They will be screened before being posted here)

your name or e-mail address:


your message:



visit www.flash-gear.com for authentic, unstolen Flash toys!